• Akwesasne
  • Ontario


The Mohawk Nation at Akwesasne is a First Nations territory located on the St. Lawrence River. The Akwesasne Territory is completely geographically unique, as an international border runs through the territory and both Quebec and Ontario are within the Canadian side of Akwesasne, where the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne is the elected system government. Although divided by these multiple borders, residents consider themselves to be one community. Akwesasne has a population of 12,000 and is considered one of the Seven Nations of Canada. The name Akwesasne in Kanienskéha (the Mohawk language) means ‘Land Where the Partridge Drums’, referring to the rich wildlife in the area.